Organic Master Gardener

This Organic Master Gardener course is our core gardening course. It's intense, challenging, and inspiring, and it's profoundly changing lives all around North America. Not only do you become a master gardener, but you also join a community of like-minded people who want to make the world a better place. You'll make new friends. You'll see the world differently. We hope you'll discover a new sense of purpose.

Topics Covered:

  • Learn to create fabulous food and ornamental gardens without pesticides and other harmful chemicals
  • Become involved with Society for Organic Urban Land Care (SOUL) and share your knowledge with your community through workshops, talks and other creative ways
  • Gain essential skills to start or enhance your own business in the rapidly growing organic land care industry
  • Prepare to write the SOUL Organic Certification exam for land care professionals
  • Earn generous Continuing Education Credits to maintain your industry certifications (ISA, CNLA, BCSLA, SOUL)
Course Schedule Date Time
 Information Session  Sep 10 Tuesday, 6pm - 7pm
 Introduction  Sep 17 Tuesday, 6pm - 9pm
 Botany  Sep 19 Thursday, 6pm - 9pm
 Soil Ecosystem  Sep 24 Tuesday, 6pm - 9pm
 Soil Testing  Sep 26 Thursday, 6pm - 9pm
 Soil Fertility  Oct 1 Tuesday, 6pm - 9pm
 Teas and Brews  Oct 3 Thursday, 6pm - 9pm
 Water Wise Gardening  Oct 8 Tuesday, 6pm - 9pm
 Composting (hands-on)  Oct 12 Saturday, 9am - 12pm
 Permaculture  Oct 15 Tuesday, 6pm - 9pm
 Garden Beds (hands-on)  Oct 19 Saturday, 9am - 12pm
 Pruning 1  Oct 22 Tuesday, 6pm - 9pm
 Pruning 2 (hands-on)  Oct 26 Saturday, 9am - 12pm
 Lawns  Oct 29 Tuesday, 6pm - 9pm
 Design and Construction  Nov 2 Saturday, 9am - 12pm
 Health 1  Nov 5 Tuesday, 6pm - 9pm
 Health 2 (hands-on)  Nov 9 Saturday, 9am - 12pm

 

Everyone is welcome. No previous experience required. Just come, learn and have fun. To receive a certificate of completion, students must attend all sessions and satisfactorily complete all assignments and quizzes.

Time Requirement: Participants should expect to set aside a miminum of 6 -10 hours each week to focus on assignments.

Course Schedule: Gaia College recommends participants registered in Gaia College courses take no more than 2 courses per semester. For those participants wishing to take more than 2 courses, please contact Gaia College.

Part of the Gaia College/Royal Roads University Diploma in Organic Land Care.

Find out more.

Course Dates: Organic Master Gardener

Start Date:Jan 21, 2020
End Date:Mar 10, 2020
Delivery:9 weeks, Off Campus
Location:Haliburton Farm 741 Haliburton Road
Delivery Day(s)/Time(s):Tuesdays, 6:00pm - 9:00pmThursdays, 6:00pm - 9:00pmSun, Feb 16, 2020 9:00am - 12:00pmSat, Feb 22, 2020 9:00am - 12:00pm
Price:$795.00
Instructor:Gaia College
Register Now